Guest Post- Ashley of Merry May

Here to continue my guest posting is Ashley of Merry May Handmade. I have been following and reading Merry May for quite some time. There is just something special about reading a blog when the author lives in your own backyard. I met Ashley for the first time back at a Crafeteria and then again at the AZ Blogger Meet Up. I’m so happy she is here on my blog this week and I can’t wait to spend more time with her as we now live just a few miles from each other. 

Hi there! I’m Ashley and I blog over at Merry May. I’m super excited and honored that Sarah invited me to do a guest post while she makes the big move to downtown, and even more excited that we’ll be so close! Coffee time!

Anyways, I love all things home and I’m such a homebody! There’s nothing better than coming home to a welcoming place that exudes your personality. As big of a pain moving is, it’s so exciting to start fresh and have a blank canvas to work with!

I thought I’d share with y’all some things that inspire my home decor and how I try to incorporate then into my home!

Vintage and Antiques. I love all things old. I know it’s silly but I like to think of all the stories the object holds. These objects inspire me so much and I love to fill my house with them. From little dolls and tchotchkes, to embroideries and linens, heck even to furniture. I love it all. And a great piece can really make a beautiful statement.


Here’s my vintage record cabinet with vintage two kitty paint by numbers.

 Etsy is FILLED with tons of shops with all kinds of yummy vintage things for your home.  Here’s one of my favorites. 

 Collections. Honestly, I’ve kinda got a sickness when it comes to collecting things. I collect dishes and teacups, antique quilts, linens, cameras, books… it’s really getting outta hand. Still, it’s pretty fun.


Here’s my collection of antique dinerware

Build a collection of pretty dishes here.

Or snatch up an instant collection like this one, this one, or this one

 Handmade. I’m so inspired by all the love that goes into handmade things. I love to surround myself with such meaningful pieces.

 

My great grandmother made the neutral afghan.  It’s one of my prized possessions.

Love love love these! Oh and these!! I have the poster of this and it’s one of my most favorite things! 

 Nature. I also love being outside and think every home needs a little bit of nature infused into it. From a tiny herb garden to a painting of flowers. I love bringing nature into my home as well as making the backyard or patio an extension of the home, with comfy pillows and cozy furniture.


My pals gave me this adorable little terrarium. Nature-y and  handmade!

This shop is filled with tons of awesome, nature inspired things to bring the outside in. One of my favorite things to collect is ceramic planters. Especially ones with adorable animals on them : ) They look great clustered on a windowsill or bookshelf. Get some here.

Thanks so much for having me! I hope you enjoy checking out all the links! And be sure to stop by and say hello!  

1 Comment

Filed under Guests

One response to “Guest Post- Ashley of Merry May

  1. The links you posted are amazing! Thanks Ashley and Thanks Sarah for having Ashley guest post! This was so much fun to read, and I found so many new treasures to add to my wishlist! =)

Leave a Reply

