You Can Do It Too- DIY Laundry Detergent

We all love DIYs right? Some pretty little thing that we can be proud of. Well… this DIY isn’t really that kind, but it will save you money and we like that almost as much as pretty little things.

I HATE buying laundry detergent. It is one of those household items that makes my bill go up and when I leave the store I can’t understand why.  My mom has been making her own laundry detergent for a few months and has had brilliant success. I finally asked her to share the recipe and I committed to trying out. I’m sure this would be especially useful to all the mamas out there who do a billion loads of laundry per week.

Here goes…

You will need:

  • 1 bar of Fels-Naptha (some use Ivory soap, but I have skin allergies so I opted for this)
  • 2 cups of Arm and Hammer Super Washing Soda
  • 2 cups of Borax

Grade the bar of Fels-Naptha

Dissolve the Fels-Naptha in 2 quarts of water on the stove

Stir in the washing soda and the Borax until it is dissolved

Add 2 gallons of water and pour into another container

 

Afterwards, let it cool.

There will be a thick layer at the top and all the water will be below. Take your hands and break up all of the chunks and try to smooth it out as much as possible. I’m not gonna lie, I probably played with it longer than I should have, but it feels really soft on your hands. Let it sit overnight and mix it up again in the morning. At this point you can decide if you like the consistency of it. Feel free to add more water if you feel like it is too thick. It may take you a few batches to get it perfect. Use a funnel to pour into storage containers. I just used an old laundry detergent bottle and a gallon jug. I spent about $7 for all of the ingredients and this makes way more than if I were to buy just 1 bottle of store bought plus the boxes of washing powder and Borax will last a few more batches. I hope that you all will make some and save some money!

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under DIY

One response to “You Can Do It Too- DIY Laundry Detergent

  1. I can’t believe I have not stopped by again since the meet up! i am so glad Courtney sent that email out with all the girls info..
    It was so nice meeting you, wish we would have been able to chat a bit more.
    Take care!

Leave a Reply

