The Art of Walking

 

I’m here in sunny southern California for some training in the world of my day job. I thought it best for many reasons to leave my beloved camera at home. The thought of something happening to it makes me wanna hurl.

I originally thought it would be great to do some thrifting out of town and check out a few new places while I’m here. Those plans were squashed at the denial of my rental car and using the hotel shuttle far all transportation needs. I looked up some places online and armed with my phone camera and Google Maps I decided to venture off on foot.

Beautiful sidewalks

When is the last time you made a wish on one of these?

I noticed interesting trees, I would have otherwise passed by.

I have to say, I’m pretty impressed with the quality of my phone camera and who can pass up a chain link fence photo opportunity?

I have a love/hate relationship with my car. It is pretty much the best car I have ever had. It is easy on gas which is now $3.50 a gallon (don’t hate me if you live in CA and its $4.50.) It is super roomy without being soccer mom-ish. I’m just kinda over my uber dependence on having a vehicle. It seems like it is draining me of all my extra income every time I turn around. Gas, tires, registration, insurance, payments, maintenance… ahhhh. If both the Mister and I were without a car we could easily save nearly $700 per month!

I’m actually happy that I was forced to walk today. It was several miles, but it really gave me a chance to just get out of my head for a while and process what was around me rather than just focusing on the destination. The beginning of warmer temperatures in Phoenix probably isn’t the best time for me to declare my committment to the art of walking as I fear it would be short-lived, but I would like to walk more and drive less. It takes a lot longer and surely isn’t as easy, but sometimes I could really use a slower pace.   

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

