Mardi Gras and Melrose District Street Fair

In celebration of Mardi Gras, Phoenix had our own little parade and festivities.

We got a little taste of the pride of New Orleans.

The Brass Band was incredible to listen to and from what I hear, did a really great job of capturing that authentic sound of Mardi Gras.

I had been getting emails from Short Leash Hot Dogs for a while and had been waiting for the chance to try them out. Lucky us, their truck was right in the middle of the fun. I had the Organic Chicken with what they call Aiko (mango chutney, diced jalapenos, onions, cilantro, and  mayo.) It was AMAZING!

The next day was the annual Melrose District Street Fair. This is my second year heading out there. Check out last year’s adventure here. Every year there are awesome vendors, live music and classic car shows. I love this event because I also get a chance to visit some of my favorite downtown shops all in one stretch.

 

 

Hazel and Violet Ink…I’m such a sucker for a great letter press and these ladies really nail it.

The Handsome Hutch… What a cute idea. This shop specializes in tea towels that have recipes printed on them. Many of them are family owned recipes, which makes them even more special.

Vintage Bliss never disappoints. Their styling is spot on and a favorite to visit again and again.

My heart was a flutter when I saw this. I want one of my own someday and I melted inside at the mere thought of it. Dramatic?

 

I stumbled upon a new favorite shop in the Melrose District.

Blueberry Deluxe is a cute little botique shop featuring vintage and handmade. There are several vintage shops in this area and some I like more than others. I think that I just find the urban quirky shops more appealing than some of the shabby chic ones. It all comes down to styling and vibe. I think that is the reason I identified with this shop instantly. It just felt inviting and like a place I’d wanna hang out in all afternoon.

I’m really grateful for this event as last year it really opened my eyes to possibilities I had never thought possible before. I remember just feeling like I was at home in these shops and with these creative people. I felt such a sense of community event without speaking to any of them again. I left last year feeling so inspired and determined. This year was just an affirmation of my previous conclusions. I’m so excited to see what lies ahead for me and where I will be in my goals when the street fair rolls around again next year.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Mardi Gras and Melrose District Street Fair

  1. Thank you so much for the kind words. Your blog is super cute and fun. SO glad you had a good time at the street fair!
    Tricia

  2. Wow, I live in this city and I didn’t even know this was going on! Hope I can make it next year

Leave a Reply

