Funky Finds Handmade Extravaganza

I found myself in Dallas TX this last weekend for some training at my day job. Being that my classes didn’t begin until the afternoon on Saturday, I was desperate to find something to do in the morning. I had made plans to visit the downtown arts district of Dallas and just explore. I quickly changed my plans when I noticed that Sublime Stitching was sponsoring a handmade craft fair in Fort Worth.  I was a bit nervous as I had never had to navigate my way in TX and didn’t have a GPS. I looked up the directions and went for it. I was happy that I took the chance because my directions were accurate and I made it there without any trouble.

Upon my arrival, I hadn’t really planned on paying for parking and never have more cash than a couple of pennies at the bottom of my purse. One of the parking lots advertised that they accepted Visa and Mastercard. When I pulled up, a very friendly looking tall man wearing a cowboy hat walked up to my car. When I asked him about paying with my card, he said his machine was down. Then he just told me that I could pay him on the way out because “its not your fault my credit machine isn’t working.” I offered a pinky swear to pay him and he didn’t even need it. I was a little shocked that he was so trusting and willing to do that.

Right as I was walking to the entrance, this is what I saw.

It just so happens that the craft show was right next to a gun show. I’m sure there had to be others that found this to be terribly ironic. You could take one glance at anyone walking toward the entrance and make a highly educated guess as to which show they were planning to attend. It was a mixed crowd for sure.

 

There were some lovely shops and some lovely people. Here are some of my favorites.

Blank You

This card shop is ran by a super cute husband/wife team that were tired of the current card market. With a serious lack in personable ‘non-cheesy’ greeting cards available, Melissa Glatz and hubby created Blank You. The idea resembles a Mad Lib or fill in the blank book we all did as kids, with a little adult humor mixed in. These are sooooo clever.

 

 

 

 

Regal Cottage

I was instantly drawn to this booth. I couldn’t help but to fall in love with the unique fabrics and childhood charm of this shop. I could instantly tell that there was something special about her choice of fabrics. There were clearly authentic vintage. Regina Frydman has been collecting various vintage fabrics over the years. I can only hope that my collection will grow to be this beautiful. She was super sweet and was willing to share some great tips that I know I will implement in my own crafting adventure. Make sure to visit her beautiful shop here.

Here are some other sweet things at her booth.

 

Revel Designs

This was easily one of my favorite booths at the entire fair. The booth was styled perfectly for the beautiful creations that filled it. Crafty mama Cindy took items straight from her home to use at her booth, which was genius. She used the door from her craft room as the table and vintage suitcases as display cases. I think that seemly unnoticed details like that can speak volumes to a person’s creativity.

My favorite thing in this booth was the fabric bird cages. I love seeing everyone’s interpretation of fabric zipper pouches and aprons, but this is something innovative that I have never seen before. I could just imagine several of these hanging from the ceiling at different levels with little birdies in them. Too sweet! If you get a chance, head over to Revel Designs and check out Cindy’s designs for yourself.

I had a wonderful time being surrounded by such creative people. I was truly in my element for those few hours.

I paid the gentleman in the cowboy hat and made my way back to Dallas:)

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Funky Finds Handmade Extravaganza

  1. I am the owner of Funky Finds & receive Google alerts when anyone posts about FF, so I received a notice about your blog post! I can’t thank you enough for taking a chance & navigating your way to Texas!! Glad you enjoyed the event & hopefully you will cross paths with us again in the future. I’d love for you to check out our homepage & see everything Funky Finds offers. You can also subscribe to our newsletter to receive updates about future events. Our next event in Ft. Worth is March 12th! Stay funky, Jessica Dougherty (http://funkyfinds.com)

    • Thank you so much for reading and I enjoyed your event. It was exactly what I was looking to do that day. You had some really talented crafters out there. If I make my way back to TX, I will be sure to check out your events. I signed up for the newsletter and look forward to it. I will get those pictures uploaded soon too:) Thanks again,
      Sara(h)

  2. And…your photos are fabulous! If you’re on Flickr, I’d love for you to add them to The Funky Finds Experience pool –> http://www.flickr.com/groups/1561220@N21/

Leave a Reply

