Isaac Daniel

I love Rebekah…

Our dads are brothers, but we are far more than cousins. We have been inseparable ever since, well from long before I can remember. For most of my life I lived in AZ and her in CA. Whenever I would visit my dad I usually got to see Rebekah. I remember that I would dart out of the car and we would tackle each other in excitement. Whenever we got together we always had something exciting to do. We would rehearse for the performance that we would later showcase to the neighborhood for 50 cents a ticket, or pull the rose pedals off our grandma’s bushes and douse them with her perfume in an effort to make potpourri. There was always an adventure,  scheme or plot. It all seemed so effortless. The best memories I have from my childhood involve her. Our adult relationship is just as great. We have essentially grown up with our lives parallel to one another and there is something magical about knowing someone your whole life and seeing them grow as a person. I know that when no one else understands something, she will. We have made so many memories together that I will cherish for the rest of my life and I know that we will share many more.

Okay now that we have that out of the way, I can talk about the wonderful little man that she has brought into this world.

When I heard that Rebekah was pregnant, I jumped on my bed (really, I did). This is kinda a big deal, not only because babies are exciting no matter what, but this is the first baby from our generation of grandkids. I tried to call her all of the time during her pregnancy just to see how she was feeling. I got to hear about all the drama and the sickness. I was planning on going to whatever baby shower that she was going to have in CA, but when I found out that some ladies that Rebekah barely knew from her church were giving her a baby shower I flipped. Actually, I just asked if I could do it. I’m pretty sure that surprised her. There was no way I was going to let some little old lady rob me of this opportunity.

So it began…

My brain began to run in a million different directions. All of the creative ideas were flooding in and I had the challenge of filtering and organizing them. Rebekah has always been a fan of everything Disney. When I say fan, I don’t mean casual interest and general love that we all have. I mean FAN! This girl is obsessed! She has had season passes every year and gets her money’s worth.

When she and her husband had their ultrasound done to find out if  they were having a boy or girl, they had the technician write it down on a piece of paper. They didn’t look at it until weeks later so that they could find out while standing under the fireworks at Disneyland! Now that is a Disney fanatic with some serious self-control. With that in mind a Disney shower was the only thing that really made sense. Here lied my challenge. Every baby shower I had ever been to was cheesy and cheap looking. Not at all what I was hoping to accomplish with this one. How was I supposed to make a Disney-themed shower not look cheesy? I had nightmares of character plates and paper streamers.

After some researching and spending a fair amount of time with Google images, I decided on a Blue Mickey Head theme for the shower. It was still Disney, but classy looking. I would build the shower around the color baby blue and hints of yellow with the mickey head in solid colors.

I started with the invitations. I knew that I didn’t want to buy the ones where you write in the information on the pre-printed lines. I decided to design them myself. I got the invitation kit from Michael’s as I really liked the ones with the envelope and pull out design. I designed the Mickey head in Photoshop and put the text over the top. I printed the heads on vellum and used scrapbook dots to attach them to the outside of the envelope. I designed the header for the pullout by using a mickey head background. I also replaced the provided white ribbon with sparkle blue.

One of the things that I was dead set on and also something I never thought would be so challenging was the Mickey Head-shaped flower arrangements I thought up. I never expected them to take as many flowers to cover as it did. Every time I got home with flowers, expecting to finish, I had to turn around and go back to the store for more. Even though this took so long and took more flowers than I ever expected to use, I absolutely love the way they looked when they were done.

Another nightmare I had was the banner. I kept picturing that shiny cellophane banner with the worst baby clip art proclaiming “It’s a Boy.” No no no. I found this banner idea in my Martha Stewart Encyclopedia of Crafts. I busted out my sewing machine and made this one. It really was pretty easy to complete and I loved that it was something that could be put up and used later on.

Have your cake and eat it too! I wanted a really special cake to go with my really special party. I called to a million places to ask about custom cakes and I about lost it when I heard of their custom prices. Just like everything else, I opted to make it myself. I am not a baker, by any stretch of the imagination and I had a ton of anxiety about this more than anything else. If the cake sucked, then what? I was so nervous about making a cake that I even made a practice one for Super Bowl weekend just to see how it would turn out.

I made the cake ahead of time and froze it for the drive. I was super nervous about it being gross so I wrapped it in wax paper, then in foil, froze it, and then packed it in ice for the drive.  When we got there I unwrapped it and decorated it. Please keep in mind that I have never decorated a cake before and I was moments away from having a panic attack while doing it. Why do I always insist on having ideas bigger than my skill set? It tasted great and I’m told that how it tastes is all that really matters.

The night before the big day, we went out to dinner and there just so happened to be a balloon animal man walking around making all kinds of things. I waved him over and gave him a laundry list of details on what I wanted. I need a…

-Baby Mickey Mouse

-Decent size

-With blue on it

He was amazing and catered to my every request.

We had to get blue balloons!

Getting them in the car was hilarious!

Here are some of the best shots from the party!

February 28, 2010 Isaac Daniel was welcomed into the world at 6 lbs 14 oz  !

I finally met him when Rebekah and her little family came to visit AZ. Can I just say that I am in love with this little baby. I still cannot believe that this little man is here and a part of our ever-growing family. It just amazes me that Rebekah is a mommy. In my head, we are still those silly kids playing in the backyard on the trampoline picking cherries off the tree, but here we are adults and starting our own families.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Life

2 responses to “Isaac Daniel

  1. Pingback: What’s on Your Fridge? | Sara(h) Darlene

  2. Pingback: Handmade Gifts Rock- Isaac | Sara(h) Darlene

Leave a Reply

